John C Algar
invites you to find out   About Me   and my life to date
You are here:  home  >  homepages  >  About Me
About Me
About Me (a 'precis' )
Born February 1947 to a Welsh mother and an English father.
Christened "John Christopher" at Mumbles Parish Church (near Swansea)
Lived in Wallington, Surrey until aged 19.
Went to Bandon Hill Junior School and Wallington Independent Grammar School.
First job was at Fox Photos (Press and Commercial Photographers), Farringdon Street, London, where employed in both the Press (features) department, as well as in the Commercial Photographic section.
Next  job was  that  of Junior Photographer at Millar & Harris (Industrial and Commercial Photographers) in Baker Street, London.
Left London around 1967 to settle in South Wales with my parents.
In 1967 met Angela.  In 1968 we were engaged, and in October 1969, we married.
Have now been married to Angela for over 35 years.
We have two grown up children (James, 30, who works in nuclear medicine, and Kristian, 29, a Pharmacist) plus a much-slimmed-down (after going to 'podgy-pals club' classes)  8-year old black labrador dog called Dylan.
In January 2002, we became 'first-time' Grandparents! Kris and her husband, Andy, are the very proud parents of Joshua Andrew.
Angela retired in April 2004 in order to look after her Mother and the rest of the family (She had previously been a Medical Receptionist in the local Doctors' Surgery).
We live on  the beautiful Gower Peninsular in South Wales.
In the early 1980s I began researching the Powditch surname due to Ang's wondering "where the Powditch's had come from" (Ang's  mother is Phyllis Smith, nee Powditch  -  now a sprightly 95-year old).
In 1989, I completed and published my first book on the Powditch Family's History.  Although now out of print,  the book has been added to this site, and can be accessed by clicking on the following link
In 1992 I spent 6 weeks in Australia and New Zealand,researching William Powditch's history (for the period c1820 to the late 1880s)
Before retirement, I taught "Family History" at several Colleges in and around Swansea.
Employment since 1967 had been that of Relief Shop Manager (Shoes); Telephone Sales person; Commercial Photographer; Works Photographer; and Purchasing Manager for nearly 21 years (until I retired in 1994, due to ill-health ).
I now enjoy gardening, walking our dog, a little bit of cooking, and struggling with the Powditch web-site design and updates!  Oh yes, and  playing with our  Grandson!

The above is just a short resume about me, but if you want to learn more, or if you are just looking for help on a particular person or subject, please feel free to contact me - details of my E-Mail address etc being on the 'Contact' page

Look forward to hearing from you sometime,